On the plot

Life on the plot is very busy at the moment. Everything is growing very well. We are picking runner beans, french beans, purple french beans, beetroot, courgettes and our raspberries are still producing delicious fruits.

The tomatoes in our greenhouse at home are ripening, very slowly. The cucumbers have suddenly decided to go mad! I’ve also grown lemon cucumbers, not sure what they will taste like. For the first time ever, I have very respectable peppers.

With the surplus veg I have made the most amazing allotment relish. If you have a glut of courgettes,  has I do, relish uses a large amount of them.

It’s been a wonderful 1st year for us on the plot, growing your own is definitely rewarding. The taste and freshness alone are worth all of the hard work. Meeting other growers, swapping surplus produce and chatting about success or failure is great. I would recommend an allotment to anyone. I’m definitely in favour of the peace and stress free environment it provides.

I would also like to say a very big thank you to all of the other bloggers, you are an inspiration. I enjoy catching up with all of you.

Thank you

 

12 thoughts on “On the plot

    1. Such a kind comment, thank you. We have worked so hard on our allotment and it is really paying off. We have a beautiful abundance of delicious veg and salad. We are so thankful to mother nature, she has been kind to us x

      Liked by 1 person

    1. You are so kind, thank you. I can’t wait to try the lemon cucumber, wonder if it has a lemony flavour? x We are so lucky to be enjoying such lovely veg and salad from our allotment. I hadn’t realised how wonderful allotment life is. x

      Like

      1. Thank you for your comment. The lemon cucumbers were very disappointing, they didn’t taste any different from the normal cucumbers that we grow. I don’t think I will be growing them next year.

        Like

  1. Congratulations on your first harvest – what an accomplishment! We sampled some of my father-in-law’s courgettes last week and the flavour of home/allotment grown to shop bought doesn’t compare at all. In fact 2 out of 3 Little Postcards ate them and liked them, so that was a great seal of approval. I hope you enjoy eating the fruits of your labours. x

    Like

    1. Thank you for your lovely comment. I am amazed and delighted with the amount of beautiful veg and salad crops that we are enjoying from our allotment. Glad you enjoyed your father-in-law’s courgettes. I must say they are one of my favourite veg, so versatile , cake, relish and even marmalade can be made from these simple little veg.
      I have enjoyed your journey around the UK so much, thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

